Event:
The New Rhode Island Wage Act
 
Additional Information:
The 2012 Rhode Island Wage Act became effective June 20. It creates a new no-exhaustion private right of action enabling Rhode Island workers to sue their employers in Superior Court. The new rights and remedies created by the Act apply with equal force to both civil litigation and administrative proceedings conducted by the RI Department of Labor and Training. New features include a three year statute of limitations, the award of attorneys fees and liquidated and double liquidated damages. These statutory incentives seem likely to increase claims for unpaid overtime premiums and unpaid hours worked. At this program, the speakers will review the new legislation and provide an overview of its provisions and remedies. They will focus on: - the litigation of new claims - procedural issues and forum selection options - the new Act's interrelationship with the FLSA's substantive requirements and enforcement mechanisms - operation of the Act's new three year statute of limitations - claims for single or double liquidated damages - civil monetary penalties and RIDLT reporting to the Division of Taxation - employer wage and hour self-audits - expansion of Company "open door" policies to include wage complaints - the dynamic significance of "retaliation" claims - the limited availability of EPLI coverage Whether you represent employers or employees you’ll want to attend this comprehensive review of new legislation that may influence the way you counsel your clients and prepare your cases in 2013.

In the event of inclement weather which causes severe or hazardous driving conditions, call the RIBA CLE program at 401-421-5740 or check the Bar's website for cancellation information. You will receive written notification of the new seminar date.

 
Event Date: 2/5/2013
 
Event Time: 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
 
Location:
Rhode Island Law Center, 115 Cedar St., Providence

Event Brochures:
   Click here to view the brochure.
 
Event Cost:
  Member $95.00
  Associate Member $80.00
  New Lawyer Division $80.00

Credit Hours:
  General 2 hrs